Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University

General Information 

The Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University, NEFU, previously known as Yakutsk State University, is the largest higher education institution in the Russian northeast and it is one of Russia’s ten federal universities. NEFU’s main campus is in Yakutsk (Sakha Republic), and it has two other campuses in Sakha as well as one in Anadyr in the Chukotka Autonomous Okrug.

North-Eastern Federal University is one of the leading research and educational centers in the Russian Federation. The University has 3 study branches: Technical Institute in Neryungri, Mirny Polytechnic Institute, and Chukotka Branch in Anadyr. NEFU has 5 research institutes, 12 study institutes, 6 study faculties, 4 study departments, 36 academic courses, research projects, and 5 university museums. 

The university has more than 18,000 local and international students from 46 foreign countries and 42 regions of Russia. Research projects and academic projects and study programs are successfully implemented thanks to the well-coordinated work of more than 1,300 research and teaching staff, of which about 70% have academic degrees.

NEFU is a multidisciplinary classical university. It has 152 training programs and implements more than 460 basic educational programs and more than 500 programs of additional professional education. Currently, there are more than 500 international students at NEFU. More than 150 partner agreements with universities and research centers from 25 countries allow us to expand our academic mobility and develop joint research and educational programs. 

Study Programs

University provides studying processes at the following faculties and institutes:

  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Finance and Economics
  • Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Faculty of Physics and Technologies
  • Faculty of Sports and Physical Education
  • Faculty of Foreign Languages and Regional Studies
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Languages and Cultures of the Peoples of the Russian North-East
  • Faculty of Teacher Training
  • Technological Faculty 
  • Faculty of Civil Engineering
  • Faculty of Natural Sciences
  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Road Construction
  • Faculty of Geology and Survey
  • Faculty of Pre-Undergraduate Education

Accommodation and Housing 

The Ammosov North-Eastern Federal University has four student dormitories, which are located on The Avenue of Stanke Dimitrova. The campus has a health center, a dining room, a food shop, and a stadium, where sports competitions in various sports are held.

The dormitories are equipped with fire alarms and firefighting equipment. There are alarm buttons on the dormitories to call the police. In dormitory number 4, there is a police room, where a police officer works permanently, and the staff of the student operational detachment. There is a pass-through mode in the dormitories. All rooms have access to free Wi-fi and are equipped with essential modern amenities like a pillow, blanket, bedsheet, beds, tables, and chairs that are already added to the basic necessity list. For student recreation gyms, reading rooms and sports complex facilities are also available.