Pskov State Pedagogical University

General Information

Pskov State Pedagogical University (PSPU) is the first higher educational institution in the Pskov region, which existed from 1932-2010. Became part of the Pskov State University. On October 17, 1932, the Pedagogical Institute was opened with 5 departments: socio-economic, physical, mathematical, chemical, and biological. For two years, the Pedagogical Institute and the Pedagogical College worked in the same building and under the guidance of one director, constituting a single “pedagogical association”. In 1934 the separation of the institute from the technical school, the opening of a two-year teacher‘s institute at an independent pedagogical institute to train teachers of seven-year schools. The departments that existed before were transformed into faculties. The university had two facultiesphysics and mathematics and natural sciences

On March 22, 2005, by the order of the Federal Agency for Education of the Ministry of Education and Science of the Russian Federation, the Pskov Pedagogical Institute transformed into the “Pskov State Pedagogical University. S. M. Kirov. Pskov State Pedagogical University is active in international activities and cooperates with universities in Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Ukraine, Sweden, and China. 

The main directions of the international activities of the university: raising the academic standard of the university in research and educational areas through the development of international relations; establishing long-term business contacts with higher educational institutions in order to develop joint educational and scientific projects; improving the professional level of the teaching staff; improvement of the educational process; increasing the international prestige of the university; exchange of students and teachers. The University offered programs for Bachelor’s, Masters and Postgraduate Degrees. PSPU postgraduate studies were conducted in 15 specialties.

Study Programs

  • Faculty of Natural Geography
  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of Foreign Languages
  • Faculty of Educational Technologies
  • Faculty of Psycholog
  • Faculty of Social Technologies
  • Faculty of Technology and Entrepreneurship
  • Faculty of Physics and Mathematics 
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty of Management 

Accommodation and Housing 

The university provides a dormitory for foreign students or students from other cities. The administration of the university provides all facilities such as central heating, free Wi-Fi, hot and cold running water, permanent access to the gym, library, reading rooms, and all equipment students need for studying and living. University provides free access to the University Library, reading rooms, studying rooms, and all necessary for studying process equipment and materials.