Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University (LETI)

General Information 

Saint Petersburg Electrotechnical University is a public university and one of the oldest Russian higher education institutions. It was founded in 1886 as a Technical College. LETI, as it is popularly called, received the status of a higher education institution in 1899 and became known as Electrotechnical Institute. 

University provides a studying process with Bachelor’s courses, Master’s courses, and Specialist courses in 38 technical specialties, economics specialties, and humanity specialties. Training is conducted at 6 study faculties and 2 study institutes. Electrotechnical University has 9 English medium Master’s programs that follow the current research trends in computer science, laser technology, wireless communication systems, solar energy, energyefficient technology, digital healthcare, automation, robotics, heritage science, and innovation management. Ph.D. level students in 14 majors are taught at LETI by highly qualified academic staff.

The university has over 9,000 students in undergraduate courses and postgraduate courses. Over 1,800 students came to LETI from foreign countries. The university teaching staff consists of 200 Professors and Doctors, and 20 winners of Russian and international awards. The university attracts guest lecturers from Germany, Brazil, India, the UK, Italy, Denmark, and other countries.

Study Programs

University provides studying process at the following faculties:

Institute of Fundamental Engineering Education

  • Department of Higher Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Physical Chemistry
  • Department of Applied Mechanics and Engineering Graphics
  • Department of Theoretical Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering
  • Department of Education Training and Sport

Institute of Innovative Design and Technological Entrepreneurship

  • Department of Management and Quality Systems
  • Department of Innovation Management
  • Department of Applied Economics
  • Department of Economic Theory

Faculty of Radio Engineering

  • Department of Radio Engineering Systems
  • Department of Radio Electronic Facilities
  • Department of Television and Video Engineering
  • Department of Theoretical Fundamentals of Radio Engineering
  • Department of Microelectronics and Radio Engineering
  • Department Branch of Special Radio Electronic Facilities
  • Department Branch of Radio Electronic Information Systems and Complexes
  • Department Branch of Radio Astronomy
  • Department Branch of Nanotechnology and Nanomaterials in Electronics
  • Department Branch of Video Information Systems
  • Faculty Computing Lab

Faculty of Electronics

  • Department of Radio Electronics
  • Department of Electronic Instruments and Devices
  • Department of Physical Electronics and Technology
  • Department of Photonics
  • Department of Micro- and Nanoelectronics
  • Department Branch of Optoelectronics
  • Department Branch of Physics and Technology of Solid-State Electronics
  • Department of Electronic Instrumentation

Faculty of Computer Science and Technology

  • Department of Computer-Aided Design
  • Department of Automation and Control Processes
  • Department of Information Systems
  • Department of Software Engineering and Computer Applications
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Information Security
  • Department of Algorithmic Mathematics
  • Department Branch of Research Automation
  • Department Branch of Intellectual Information Technologies

Faculty of Industrial Automation and Electrical Engineering

  • Department of Automatic Control Systems
  • Department of Electrical Technology and Converter Engineering
  • Department of Robotics and Industrial Automation
  • Department of Marine Control Systems

Faculty of Information Measurement and Biotechnical Systems

  • Department of Bioengineering Systems
  • Department of Engineering Environmental Protection
  • Department of Information and Measurement Systems and Technology
  • Department of Laser Measurement and Navigation Systems
  • Department of Electrical Acoustics and Ultrasonic Engineering
  • Department of Occupational Safety
  • Department Branch of Design and Technology of Electronic Radio Equipment
  • Department Branch of Medical Technologies and Bioengineering Systems

Faculty of Humanities

  • Department of Public Relations
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Sociology and Political Science
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of History of State, Culture, and Law
  • Department of Russian Language
  • Academic and Research Center for Social Research

Accommodation and Housing

Student Dormitory has eight rooms per floor, with 2-3 people per room. Each floor also has one kitchen and two toilets, and the basement has a shower. All rooms have access to free Wi-fi and are equipped with essential modern amenities like a pillow, blanket, bedsheet, beds, tables, and chairs that are already added to the basic necessity list. For student recreation gyms, reading rooms and sports complex facilities are also available.

Every hostel resident can use every common room in the building, including the library, gym, canteen, and resting rooms. All rooms are well-furnished and ready to use at any time and day.