South Russian State Technical University (Novocherkassk Polytechnic Institute)

General Information

South Russian State Technical University has made a significant contribution to the development of engineering education in Russia, having trained more than 150 thousand experts. It was established in 1907. Currently, the SRSPU basic activities are large-scale fundamental and applied scientific research, and innovative technologies aimed at training highly qualified engineering personnel. University is the best place to study in Russia and get higher education in Russia.

South Russian State Technical University is actively implementing a system of advanced training for the military-industrial complex of the country based on university participation in military research and development. Its target is the comprehensive training of the modern engineering expert of a wide profile capable of solving production problems in modern conditions of the Russian economy.

One of the most important components of university development is the organized system of strategic partnership, the functioning efficiency of which creates conditions for improving the quality of educational services and the competitiveness of the Russian university. University provides studying processes for local and international students from other countries. Due to numerous cooperation agreements with foreign universities and organizations, members of academic staff and students have the opportunity to take part in exchange programs and internships abroad to get new theoretical knowledge and practical skills.

South Russian State Technical University is noted among Russian and CIS leading universities. According to the studies conducted by the “Expert RA” rating agency (RAEX), SRSPU is included in the:

  • leading universities of the CIS countries;
  • 50 best technical universities in Russia with the highest reputation among employers;
  • 100 of the best Russian higher educational institutions;

Study Programs

University provides study courses at the following faculties:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

  • Applied Arts
  • Classics
  • Design
  • Education
  • Fine Arts
  • History
  • Literature
  • Museum Studies
  • Performing Arts
  • Philosophy
  • Religion and Theology
  • Visual Arts

Faculty of Business and Social Sciences

  • Accounting and Finance
  • Anthropology and Archaeology
  • Business, Commerce, and Management
  • Communication and Media Studies
  • Development Studies
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • Law
  • Library and Information Science
  • Physical Education and Sport Science
  • Political and International Studies
  • Social Policy and Public Administration
  • Social Work
  • Sociology and Psychology
  • Tourism and Hospitality
  • Business and Social Science Studies

Faculty of Language and Cultural Science

  • Aboriginal and Indigenous People Studies
  • African Studies
  • American and Caribbean Studies
  • Ancient and Modern Languages
  • Asian Studies
  • English Studies
  • European Studies
  • French Studies
  • Germanic Studies
  • Indian and South Asian Studies
  • Italian Studies
  • Middle Eastern Studies
  • Portuguese Studies
  • Russian and Eastern European Studies
  • Spanish Studies
  • Language and Cultural Studies

Faculty of Medicine and Healthcare

  • Anesthesia
  • Anatomy
  • Biomedical Science
  • Dentistry
  • Dermatology
  • Medicine and Surgery
  • Natural and Alternative Medicine
  • Nursing
  • Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  • Optometry and Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedics
  • Otorhinolaryngology
  • Pediatrics
  • Pathology
  • Podiatry
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiography
  • Rehabilitation and Physiotherapy
  • Medical and Health Studies

Faculty of Engineering

  • Aeronautical Engineering
  • Agricultural Engineering
  • Architectural Engineering
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering
  • Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Computer and IT Engineering
  • Electronic and Electrical Engineering
  • General Engineering
  • Geological Engineering
  • Industrial Engineering
  • Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
  • Mining and Metallurgical Engineering
  • Engineering Studies

Faculty of Science and Technology

  • Agriculture 
  • Aquaculture and Marine Science
  • Architecture
  • Aviation
  • Biology, Biochemistry, and Microbiology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer and Information Technology
  • Energy and Environmental Studies
  • Food Science
  • Geology
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Multimedia
  • Neuroscience
  • Pharmacy and Pharmacology
  • Physics
  • Textiles and Fibre Science
  • Zoology and Veterinary Science
  • Science and Technology Studies

Accommodation and Housing

South Russian Technical University provides its students with permanent access to the renovated dorm building and all its well-furnished rooms. The central campus of the University is located in the city center. The students’ dormitory is only 5 minute walk away from the campus. Each room in the apartment is equipped with a bed, bedding, desk, chair, and curtains. The shared bathrooms are free to access for double and triple roommates​.

Shared facilities are provided for all international students. Every dorm resident can use a refrigerator, microwave, kitchen range, toaster, TV, cooking utensils (pot, frying pan, knife, cutting board ), and laundry room. Free Wi-Fi is also available on the whole campus territory.​ ​The dormitory is guarded 24/7 hours.