N. G. Chernyshevsky Transbaikal State Humanitarian and Pedagogical University

General Information

G. Chernyshevsky Transbaikal State Humanitarian and Pedagogical University is a higher educational institution that existed until 2012, and was founded in 1938. It was established as the Chita State Pedagogical Institute by the decision of the Council of People’s Commissars of the RSFSR in 1938. The name N. G. Chernyshevsky was given to the university in 1963. In 1923, by the decision of the Russian government, the university was transferred to Vladivostok, where the Far Eastern University was founded. In 2016 Federal State Budgetary Educational Institution of Higher Professional Education “Transbaikal State University” was renamed to Federal State Budgetary Educational Institution of Higher Education “Transbaikal State University”. Now it is the largest University in the Transbaikal region, which educational and scientific potential to respond to the modern requirements of higher education. The modern educational process in the University is carried out by 15 faculties. There are Distance Learning Center, Humanitarian Technical College, and two Lyceum operating at the University

Nowadays, the number of University students is more than 18 thousand, including about 8,000 full-time training. In 88 training courses and specialties of the University students receive strong and qualitative knowledge. Transbaikal State University adopted a worldwide multi-level system of education, including a four-year bachelor’s degree in 57 directions with the possibility of continuing education for a master’s degree and 25 programs that can be continued in receiving postgraduate and doctoral degrees. The educational process is provided by highly qualified lecturers, 62 % of which have academic degrees, including 10 % of doctor’s degrees

Among the teaching staff of the University, there are sectorial academies of sciences academicians and corresponding members, certificated and honored workers of Russian Federation higher professional education, and honored workers by different industrial branches.

Study Programs

  • Faculty of Natural Geography
  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of Education
  • Social Faculty
  • Faculty of Technology and Economics
  • Faculty of Foreign Languages
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Physical Culture
  • Faculty of Art Education
  • Faculty of Physics and Mathematics
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Law

Accommodation and Housing 

Dormitories consist of eight rooms per floor, with 2-3 people per room. Each floor has one kitchen and two toilets, and the basement has a shower. Students cannot select their rooms. Students have to apply early, as the number of rooms is limited. The Dormitories have the following facilities: kitchen, laundry room, medical aid cabinet, gym, reading room, and free Internet connection.